Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello people,

I am a lover and sucker for natural, herbal and organic products, specially for my skin. Until last year, I was a branded cosmetics fanatic and me along with my best friend Saloni, could go hours and hours shopping for fancy looking and amazing smelling products. The more fragrance and well packaged they are, the more chemicals these brands really contain. Last year, I made a conscious decision to stop subjecting my face and skin to harsh and harmful chemicals and I absolutely love creating my own face packs and buying only 100% organic products.

Here is one such amazing face pack for the skin. I recently discovered that orange peels were great for the skin. In fact orange peels are said to contain more nutrients than the flesh inside. And to think, we discard this awesomely nutrient filled peels into the garbage bin! So I decided to use these myself and I must say the results were almost instant.

Orange peels contain vitamin c, potassium, calcium and magnesium. These nutrients help us to derive the multiple benefits out of orange peels. They help removeΒ blackheads, dead cells, acne, pores, blemishes, dark circles, dry skin, and brightens your face.

Ever wondered why so many face masks and beauty products contain orange peels. This is the reason. So next time on, instead of purchasing an expensive store bought orange peel face mask, prepare your own chemical free and cost free face mask!

How to use prepare the orange peels powder

1) First up, wash your oranges well and pat them dry. Cut out the skin into small pieces and sun dry them for about 2-3 days. They should look hard and coarse, like this, after drying.

Β dry orange peels

2) Put these into a blender and grind them to a fine powder like the picture shown below.

orange peel powder

3) Add 2 tsp of the orange peel powder, 1 tsp yogurt/curd , 1 tsp honey and 1 tsp lemon juice (lemon juice is optional). Mix this or blend it to a fine paste like this and apply on your face for 20-25 mins and rinse off.

orange paste

Why yogurt and honey?

Well Yogurt helps in hydrating and nourishing the skin. My skin feels instantly soft and supple when I apply yogurt.

Honey has anti bacterial and anti septic properties which helps in anti aging and in moisturizing the skin. I also like to add lemon as lemons help reducing spots and marks on the skin and helps lighten up the face.

Do give this recipe a try and I am confident your face will love it! In case I don’t have orange peel powder I prepare a face pack containing combinations of yogurt, honey and lemon. These are all great ingredients for the skin!

Sources:

www.healthmunsta.hubpages.com

www.stylecraze.com