Tags

, , , , , , , ,

You might think that ‘kale’ and ‘salad’ make for a great healthy and ‘anything-but-tasty’ combination. I thought so too, until I tried this delicious crunchy salad and simply loved it! Yeah, I’m serious! Ever since I have plunged onto the ‘health’ bandwagon, I have been researching and trying healthy recipes that also make my taste buds happy. Yes, that’s important to keep my going and excited to pursue the healthy lifestyle. Hence, the healthilicious kale salad πŸ™‚

Image

So I’ve been researching online on interesting kale salad recipes. And one recipe that caught my attention was this recipe.Β I simply loved the idea of grated kale with toasted pine nuts and decided to give this a try. With some customisation of course. I decided to add one of my favorite sources of protein – chickpea. Chickpea offers a great combination of fibre and protein. They are great for the digestion tract and are low in calories. Whats more, they taste great. I also wanted to experiment by adding an orange twist to it. What I got was a crunchy, salty, tangy kale salad. I decided to give the raisins a miss, since I do not particularly enjoy sweetness in salads.

For those who are ignorant about the health benefits of kale, I simply cannot explain enough how powerful kale is for good health. Kale is a source of vitamin C, A and super rich source of vitamin K. It also contains minerals such asΒ copper, potassium, iron, manganese, and phosphorus. It also contains anti oxidants and phytonutrients.

Coming back to the kale chickpea salad recipe, here’s how you prepare it.

Here’s what you need

A bunch of organic dinosaur/lacinato kale leaves

1/2 cup of pine nuts

1/2 cup of chickpeas

2 tbsp lemon juice

2 tbsp olive oil

2tbsp orange juice

2-3 tbsp of parmesan cheese

1-2 tsp black pepper powder

1-2 tsp paprika

salt to taste

Here’s what you do

1) Soak the chickpeas for at least 2 hours. Overnight soaking works best, but in case you do not have it soaked overnight, try and soak it for as long as possible. If this isn’t possible, boil the chickpeas directly either in a pressure cooker or microwave. Be aware that since the chickpeas aren’t soaked, it will take much longer to boil and become soft.

2) Once the chickpeas are ready, add some salt, paprika and mix well.

Image

3) Wash the kale leaves properly and separate them from the stems. (You could use the stems for juicing, rather than throwing them away). Pat them dry.

4) Put the kale leaves in a food processor to grate them. Keep it aside.

 

5) Take a dry saucepan and add the raw pine nuts on high flame. Keep shaking the spatula to dry roast them. You can also toss them so they get toasted faster. Make sure they are golden brown and not burnt.

Image

6) Dressing – Add the olive oil, lemon juice, orange juice, salt, pepper and mix well.

7) Combine the kale, pine nuts, chickpeas, dressing and parmesan cheese and mix well.

 

8) Serve and enjoy its nutritional benefits!!