Tags

, , , , , ,

Its peak summer time, I’m a happy person as I’ve cleared my exams and it’s the prefect time to have some friends over. I love thinking of and researching new and creative ideas for appetizers that are delicious, not too heavy and a bonus point if they are healthy! I love making my own dips at home to escape the not so desirable ingredients in store bought dips, pestos and hummus. I found this lovely recipe for a pesto here and decided to serve it as a dip. 

Image

I then figured it would taste so much better if served on thin crispy crackers with some chopped tomatoes and mozzarella cheese. What turned out were these delicious mini pizza bites that were crispy, light and I repeat…so delicious. I usually run my new healthy creations and recipes through my husband, and he predicted that ‘this’ would be the ‘hit’ item so I better keep a couple of batches ready 😛 And he predicted right! These healthy little crispy creations were a favorite amongst our friends and the pesto gave it just the right ‘kick’ of the basil flavor that we all love in our pizzas.

So here’s how you prepare the pesto:

Ingredients

4 cups of basil leaves washed and dried

1/4 cup toasted pine nuts

1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil

1 cup organic parmesan cheese grated

Lemon juice from one lemon

3 garlic cloves – minced

Salt & pepper

Here’s what you do:

Blend all the ingredients for upto a minute and store in an air tight container. You can also freeze the pesto by pouring it in an ice tray.

Here’s what you need to make the cracker pizza bites :

1 packet of whole wheat multi grain crackers

1 tomato chopped into small square bites

Some organic mozzarella cheese

Salt & pepper to taste

Here’s what you do:

Pre-heat the oven to 350F.

Spread a thin coat of pesto on the crackers.

Put some tomato pieces in the centre and garnish with lots of mozzarella cheese

Sprinkle some salt and pepper

Prepare about 10-12 of these crackers and spread on a baking sheet. Bake for about 3 minutes.

I hope you enjoy these delicious little pizza crackers!