Tags

, ,

This is that time of the year when are all undergoing the holiday season withdrawal symptoms and to add to our miseries – the end (almost) of our sinful eating.. haha.. I, just like you all, am trying my best too. But the little indulgences here and there do happen, only I try to make them as less frequent as possible.

During the last week of december in the midst of all festivities, I decided to give my digestive system a break for a day and just had juices and spinach pancakes. I lorrvee pancakes but I have gradually got myself to realize that while I love them for breakfast (with a little added Nutella and some lovely organic strawberries), I don’t necessarily savor them for lunch. Reason being, I enjoy salty and spices meals for lunch and dinner. And so I thought, I should probably try and prepare a salty pancake and skip the sweetener (I add mashed bananas as a natural sweetener to my pancakes and if needed, some honey). Also, addition of some spices wont do no harm πŸ˜›

So it was today I decided to do the tweaking to the pancake recipe and voila what came out was a version I exactly wanted. Salty, spicy and quite desi !! I added a dollop of butter and some pickle to go along with it. I know this just doesn’t sound like a pancake experience, but for me what matters is that it was healthy and tasty and just what I wanted πŸ˜€

Spinachpancake

What I liked about the recipe was that it was insanely easy to prepare and the experience was somewhat similar to having a parantha, without all the effort to having prepare one. Coming to the health aspect, it contained spinach which is my absolute go-to for anything healthy. I use spinach to prepare vegetable curries, juices, smoothies, pancakes and now salty pancakes. Haha. Am I on the verge of Popeye-ing?

In addition to the spinach, you benefit from the health advantages of eggs, oats and almond flour. All of these will add to a bombastically healthful combination !

Here’s what you need:

Prepares 5 medium sized pancakes.

1. 1.5 cup spinach leaves ( well washed and boiled if required)

2. 2 eggs

3. 2.5 tbsp rolled oats

4. 2.5 tbsp almond flour ( You can use all purpose flour too but I like using almond flour for its health benefits)

5. 2 tbsp organic milk

6. 1.5 tbsp chopped coriander leaves

7. 1/2 tsp garlic powder (optional)

8. 1 tsp red chilli powder (or as per your desired spice level)

9. Salt to taste

10. 2 tbsp olive oil to cook the pancakes

Here’s what you do:

1. Just blend all the ingredients (except the olive oil) in a blender till the batter is smooth. Taste the batter and adjust the salt/spice level if desired.

2. Pour the oil in a skillet and take a ladle full of the batter. Pour the batter onto the skillet and cook.

3. Serve with some butter and pickle.