Tags

, , , ,

Don’t we all hate it when ’tis the season to be jolly’ time is over and tis now the season to detox! Argh! January is usually the time for making promising resolutions and is also the month where maximum efforts are channelized to making those resolutions a reality. Well as we all know, with time those resolutions become vague, hazy and almost forgettable by the turn of September and October. Haha!

IMG_8977

Well for now, most of us are focussed to at least detox from some of our sinful indulgences over the holidays. I’ve heard of people struggling with eating salads, going on a completely raw diet etc. While I love salads, I find it quite difficult to get onto the raw diet immediately after the holiday season. In my opinion it only makes you detest salads all your life and so I prefer having them only when I really feel like having them (just so that my love affair with salads continue :P). More on that later…for now I thought it would be a good idea to provide all my friends with some easy to follow, simple detox measures that I have been following to rid my body off the toxins accumulated over a month (or more maybe!..lol). These are small and easy to comply with and following these everyday will definitely help detoxifying the system.

 

1) Wake up with a glass of warm lemon water – I love love love this ritual. Its easy and has great benefits. Warm lemon water helps to kick start the digestion process in the morning and also helps in detoxification. It also helps maintain the pH levels of the body and is a great source of vitamin C, hence improving the immune system of the body.

2) Beet juice – The liver is the organ that helps remove toxins from the body and this makes it very important to detoxify the liver periodically. Beets are known to be a great source of promoting liver health and contains a substance called betaine that helps greatly in its detoxification. My favorite way to consume beets is through juicing. But in case you do not have a juicer you can follow a real simple recipe by combining the following ingredients in a blender – 1 beet, 1 apple, 2 carrots, 1/2 inch ginger. Super easy and very healthy !

3) Apple Cider Vinegar – Ever since Ive read about the health benefits of ACV, I swear by this product. Apple Cider Vinegar is made by fermenting the sugars of apples that converts it into acetic acid. It is known for its innumerable health benefits such as – anti bacterial properties, great for diabetics by controlling blood sugar levels, anti- cancer effects and detoxification of the body, aids digestion. I consume apple cider vinegar by mixing a table spoon of it with a glass full of water and drinking it half an hour before lunch and dinner. It is know to aid digestion and improve gastric health if taken before meals. Yes, this tastes really really bad. But it is extremely effective and adding a tea spoon of honey can help alleviate the sourness ๐Ÿ™‚ I also add ACV to my salad dressings and soup broths. But make sure you are consuming absolutely raw and unadulterated form of ACV. I find Braggs to be a great brand.

4) Green Tea – Last but never the least, green tea helps greatly in the detoxification process. Green tea contain anti-oxidants which help in getting rid of free radicals that damage healthy cells. I usually consume 2 cups of green tea a day but I know people who drink up to 4-5 cups. Even having a cup a day, in conjunction with the above mentioned steps can be very effective to detoxify the system.

Following these simple steps for a month should help reboot the system and rid us from those nasty toxins. Lets get started !